Football - FA Cup - Bet Now at Bet365
Tottenham manager Harry Redknapp has revealed that Martin Atkinson admitted he was wrong to allow Chelsea's second goal in Sunday's FA Cup semi-final.
The referee ruled that, with Chelsea already winning 1-0 at Wembley, Juan Mata's 49th-minute shot had crossed the line, even though replays showed clearly that it had not.
Although Gareth Bale pulled a goal back for Spurs, Chelsea went on to win the match 5-1 to set up a final against Liverpool next month. Chelsea are now4/6to win the FA Cup final while Liverpool can be backed at5/4.
Redknapp said afterwards: "The second goal was a disaster for us. It was an honest mistake by the referee but it was nowhere near the line.
"The referee has made a big mistake. He hasn't done it on purpose but I don't see how he could give the goal. It wasn't as if someone kicked it away and it all happened so quickly.
"He must have guessed because he couldn't have been sure. I spoke to him and he said he feels worse than I do about it - I said 'I don't think so.' He said he feels bad and he's going to have a bad week but there is nothing we can do about it now."
View all Football betting at Bet365